Hermes Center calls upon Italy to protect privacy against unchecked internet surveillance

Posted in News at 23.09.2013

HERMES CENTER FOR TRASPARENCY AND DIGITAL HUMAN RIGHTS CALLS UPON ITALY TO PROTECT PRIVACY AGAINST UNCHECKED INTERNET SURVEILLANCE

 

GENEVA, 23 SEPTEMBER 2013   Today Hermes Center for Trasparency and Digital Human Rights joins a huge international coalition in calling upon Italy to assess whether national surveillance laws and activities are in line with their international human rights obligations.

 Hermes Center has endorsed a set of international principles against unchecked surveillance. The 13 Principles set out for the first time an evaluative framework for assessing surveillance practices in the context of international human rights obligations.

 A group of civil society organizations officially presented the 13 Principles this past Friday in Geneva at a side event attended by Navi Pillay, the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights and the United Nations Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Expression and Opinion, Frank LaRue, during the 24th session of the Human Rights Council. The side event was hosted by the Permanent Missions of Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland and Hungary.

 

 <<We are confident that through initiatives like this, it will soon be possible to properly regulate the available surveillance systems, and slow down the continuous privacy invasions that we are currently observing>> affirms David Del Vecchio, founder of the Center for Transparency and Hermes Human Rights Digital. <<The free development and the freedom of expression can not be restrained by the fear of being constantly monitored but should be supported through increased transparency and a free flow of information>>.

 

Navi Pillay, the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, speaking at the Human Rights Council stated in her opening statement on September 9:

 “Laws and policies must be adopted to address the potential for dramatic intrusion on individuals’ privacy which have been made possible by modern communications technology.”

 

Navi Pillay, the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, speaking at the event, said that:

“technological advancements have been powerful tools for democracy by giving access to all to participate in society, but increasing use of data mining by intelligence agencies blurs lines between legitimate surveillance and arbitrary mass surveillance.”

 

Frank La Rue, the United Nations Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Expression and Opinion made clear the case for a direct relationship between state surveillance, privacy and freedom of expression in this latest report to the Human Rights Council:

 

 “The right to privacy is often understood as an essential requirement for the realization of the right to freedom of expression. Undue interference with individuals’ privacy can both directly and indirectly limit the free development and exchange of ideas. … An infringement upon one right can be both the cause and consequence of an infringement upon the other.”

 

 Speaking at the event, the UN Special Rapporteur remarked that:

“previously surveillance was carried out on targeted basis but the Internet has changed the context by providing the possibility for carrying out mass surveillance. This is the danger.”

 

Representatives of Hermes Center, Privacy International, the Electronic Frontier Foundation, Access, Human Rights Watch, Reporters Without Borders, Association for Progressive Communications, and the Center for Democracy and Technology all are taking part in the event.

 

Find out more about the Principles at https://NecessaryandProportionate.org

 

CONTACTS

 

NGOs CURRENTLY IN GENEVA FOR THE 24TH HUMAN RIGHTS COUNCIL

Access Now
Fabiola Carrion – fabiola@accessnow.org

Association for Progressive Communication
Shawna Finnegan – shawna@apc.org

Center for Democracy and Technology
Matthew Shears – mshears@cdt.org

Electronic Frontier Foundation
Katitza Rodriguez  –  katitza@eff.org – @txitua

Human Rights Watch
Cynthia Wong – wongc@hrw.org

Privacy International
Carly Nyst – carly@privacy.org

Reporters Without Borders
Lucie Morillon – lucie.morillon@rsf.org
Hélène Sackstein – helsack@gmail.com

 

SIGNATORIES

Argentina
Ramiro Alvarez – rugarte@adc.org.ar
Asociación por los Derechos Civiles

Argentina
Beatriz Busaniche – bea@vialibre.org.ar
Fundación Via Libre

Colombia
Carolina Botero – carobotero@gmail.com
Fundación Karisma

Egypt
Ahmed Ezzat – ahmed.ezzat@afteegypt.org
Afteegypt

Honduras
Hedme Sierra-Castro – hedme.sc@gmail.com
ACI-Participa

India
Elonnai Hickok – elonnai@cis-india.org
Center for Internet and Society

Italy
Davide Del Vecchio – davide.delvecchio@logioshermes.org
Hermes Center for Transparency and Digital Human Rights

Korea
Prof. Park –  kyungsinpark@korea.ac.kr
Open Net Korea

Macedonia
Bardhyl Jashari – info@metamorphosis.org.mk
Metamorphosis Foundation for Internet and Society

Mauritania, Senegal, Tanzania
Abadacar Diop – jonction_jonction@yahoo.fr
Jonction

Portugal
Andreia Martins – andreia@coolpolitics.pt
ASSOCIAÇÃO COOLPOLITICS

Peru
Miguel Morachimo – morachimo@gmail.com
Hiperderecho

Russia
Andrei Soldatov – soldatov@agentura.ru
Agentura.ru

Serbia
Djordje Krivokapic – krivokapic@gmail.com
SHARE Foundation

Western Balkans
Valentina Pellizer – valentina.pellizzer@oneworldsee.org
Oneworldsee

Brasil
Marcelo Saldanha – instituto@bemestarbrasil.org.br
IBEBrasil